In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. Do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people have a longer life span compared to the past. Some people say that turning to an ageing society causes some issues for governments, while some people believe that more ageing population can benefit their countries. I tend to think that the disadvantages have more impact than the advantages. More ageing population can benefit the younger generation in a mentorship way. They can give suggestions and teach the younger manners to retain their traditional culture. The elderly people can create a good environment for the country where they live from their experiences, they probably know what are good or bad things for the younger generation. For example, In Japan, Japanese people can retain their culture because they were taught by their parents or elderly members to be aware of the cultural value. Despite the advantages, it is clear that more ageing people can make a reduction in economic growth for the country. Most of them have a lack of ability to work because they are old, they are not strong or healthy enough to work like an adult. They tend to consider more what type of job that they are able to do which leads to some industry to a lack of labor. For instance, this problem happens in Japan as well, Japan's economic growth has been declining for the last ten years. Their employment rate of adult or middle-aged people is quite low. Their industries do not have enough workers to do the jobs. In conclusion, even though an ageing society is beneficial to the country, such as mentorship, there are still some negative issues that cause the country's growth declines. Therefore, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.