In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

The disappearance of indigenous cultures and festivals has been increasingly happening. The root cause of this phenomenon is that most of the younger generation prefer to embrace modernity instead of preserving their ancestor’s traditions and how youth perceives festivals as an outdated and boring activity. In this essay, I will elaborate more about the possible solution to stop this because traditional carnivals and celebrations would be erased from society if this phenomenon keeps on happening. To elaborate on the reason behind the disappearance of carnival, western media consumption affects how youth perceive ancient culture as they tend to be nonchalant about it. Other than that, western celebrities also influence them to embrace modernity instead of contributing to extravagant events. As a result, young people do not have the self-belonging to hold a festival to preserve their ancient culture. The government and cultural organisations are in charge of continuing the legacy of the ancestors by arranging annual festivals and celebrating historical memorials, such as the Maulid Nabi event in Indonesia to celebrate the Prophet Muhammad’s born day. In addition, to raise people’s awareness of ancient celebrations, the government need to not only make amusing festivals and events which attract the citizens and youth to participate, but also teach the children about the nation’s history. In conclusion, the disappearance of festivals is caused by youth’s negligence and nonchalance from the consumption of modern media. To prevent this worsened phenomenon, society needs a festival held by the government as it will boost the participation of the citizens. In addition to that, schools should teach children about the importance of preserving the traditional event.