Should government spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should the government spend more money on improving public transportation?

There is an argument about whether the government should improve transportation by spending more money constructing the road and highway system or money should be used to enhance the quality of public transportation. From my perspective, although both (of these) methods have many positive impacts on traffic, the government should prioritize the maintenance of road network. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the investment in public transportation has many economic, environmental and social advantages. First of all, travelling by means of public transportation such as bus or subway is a way to save money and energy because of the economical ticket price and less fuel energy used. Moreover, the widespread use of public transit service helps alleviate (the) traffic jam and air pollution due to the decrease in private vehicles and gas emission. Finally, a high standard of public transportation will encourage people to use such kind of transport more often. This will lead to some social benefits such as the reduction of traffic crashes or the connection of community. On the other hand, it is perhaps more important to upgrade the existing road conditions. One of the main reasons is that traffic congestion could be solved if a nation possessed high-quality roads and highways because this makes the movement of vehicles more fluently. Another reason is that keeping road system to a good standard also means improving road safety by bringing the number of traffic accidents down. Last but not least, a developed transport infrastructure will facilitate the growth of other economic sectors. To be specific, the transport of commodities between rural and urban areas can become more efficient and optimal owing to the improved road network. In conclusion, I can understand why people encourage their government to invest heavily in public transit system, but it seems to me that building national road network to a high standard should be invested heavily because this is a key infrastructure influencing the sustainable development of a nation.