Some students choose to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

A large number of students start university as soon as graduating from high school, while some students choose to spend a year to find a work and/or travel to relax from academic presures of high school. In my opinion, the advantages of this development are eclipsed by the disadvantages. It is undeniable that taking a gap year can be advantageous to a certain extent. Regarding the first positive aspect, a gap year can bring various valuable experience. The majority of students nearly spent about 12 years for studying so there are some hobbies they want to do, some destination they want to come but they do not have time and chance. And taking a year off is one of the ideal opportunities for them in order to do anything they want and try something new without being disrupted by studying. However, I think we do not need a year off to experience these mentioned. If we manage schedule well enough, we are possible to have time to have various great experience while we are in university. The drawbacks brought about by taking a gap year, nevertheless, could far outweigh the aforementioned benefits. Concerning the first disadvantageous aspect, not attending school for a year can lead to lose academic momentum. While this time, some students can earn money and they start thinking studying is not really important. This make students are more difficult to return their studies. The second issue is that students can not maintain learning capability. Interruption of learning for a year can change their learning schedule and this make them do not show their entire ability and good result compared with learning consistently. Moreover, this can negatively impact their future career prospect. In conclusion, taking a gap year can offer several benefits in some situations like various great experience which do not have in school. However, this phenomenon can produce some negative impacts such as losing academic momentum and not maintaining laerning capability which are of greater significance.