Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern day, it has become easier to travel and live in another country. Some argue that moving to a non-native country creates many social concerns, along with pragmatic issues. In my opinion, I fully agree with this viewpoint. To begin with, it is understandable that some prefer a country that uses their mother tongue. This is largely because they can express their thoughts and feelings with ease. This has been proven many times by various research and studies as misunderstanding can occur as a result of language barriers, which may also lead to social awkwardness. Without community support, it can give rise to discrimination among peers. On a second note, settling in a country with a different language requires investing considerable amount of time and effort to acquire the language. Instead, one can allocate their resource to other personal development such as technical skills, especially in scientific domains. In fact, as I work in medicine, many of my Vietnamese predecessors find staying in Viet Nam and concentrating on expertise yield a better outcome than having to shift our focus to obtaining a second language and working overseas. Therefore, the notion of living in a place that shares a common language is totally valid. In conclusion, there are many disadvantages in relocating one’s habitat to another country which speaks a foreign language.