Some people say that when children under 18 are committing a crime they should be punished, while others believe they should be educated. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion.

When a person becomes a teenager, there are numerous threats that follow them around as a result of the state their bodies are at. One of the greatest struggles in this age is the thin line of responsibilities of transforming into an adult. There are many who believe that children under 18 should still be held responsible, however, some others state that education is the only correct path in such age. As we look deeper into the issue, it is clear that the latter’s response is the better one. For starters, the youth are what we have invested our future in and putting them behind bars would hurt them and ourselves equally. Thus, if people take the approach to just teach them the mistakes in their ways, we can save ourselves a lot of money and other sources that were spent to raise that kid. Moreover, as these people still have a young and formable mind, learning comes naturally to them. Therefore, they will understand the issue with what they did much easier than an adult would. This means even educating them would be financially more beneficial. As a result, less valuable resources would go to waste and just instead with little to no investment they will be part of the cycle of life. On a moral point of view, the crimes they commit are the aftermath of the lessons the previous generation teaches them. It must be our responsibility that such innocent creatures have gone so stray of their path arriving at such places. In other words, a teenager’s behavior is the reflection of what they have seen in their parents, teachers and nowadays even media. As a result, it would not be fair to punish them, letting the real culprit who led them that way get away. Yet, if education becomes the path to take, then there might be a bright future where the kids help the adults make the right decision. This is backed by an experiment done in Ireland by AUT, that showed kids whose parent don not come home drunk have less issues with alcohol than the ones who do. In conclusion, these kids are the future of the planet and punishing them for their mistakes is only the quick way out not the actual fix. Furthermore, it should not be forgotten that it was the previous generations miss behaviors that led the youth then this path. Consequently, I firmly believe that people under the age 18 should be taught and this approach could help them become responsible adults in the future.