Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of supermarkets are quickly increasing in several nations, resulting in local industries cannot compete with them. Some believe that it leads to a great destruction of these small companies. In my view, local people benefit more from local stores, despite the fact that supermarkets are more convenient and provide various services. In recent years, supermarkets have become the first place where people want to buy everything rather than small grocery stores. As a consequence, more and more grocery stores closed because they had no way to compete with the large business groups. The first reason is that large business groups have a greater budget to provide various and better services for customers, thus the local industries are less attractive to the customers. For example, we can buy coffee in most supermarkets in Taiwan. In contrast, coffee machines are not a common thing in local stores. Hence, the customers who prefer to have a cup of coffee tend to be appealed by this service of the supermarkets. Secondly, unlike large business groups, local shopkeepers often dedicate all their money in their own stores; due to the economic pressure, it is an uphill battle for them to start another business again if they close their store. On the other hand, large business groups can easily choose another location and start their industries again. This is a huge disadvantage for the local communities. To give an example, nowadays, we can see more chain supermarkets in urban areas. On the contrary, we can find many small businesses in the countryside where the supermarkets have not expanded to. This means that supermarkets truly affect the lives of local stores. In conclusion, supermarkets give customers various and better services, yet it is harmful to many small businesses, they may have to find another way to profit nowadays. Moreover, local people should consume more in these local stores in order to support them.