Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, it is usually believed that online friendships are not as truly valuable as friendship in the real life. I totally agree with this statement because although online relationships can be easily had through many platforms, it really does not bring as a whole variety of interests as real-life friendships. Advocates of making friends in the virtual world point to diverse communication possibilities. Previously, an individual had little choice but to make friends within an often-narrow circle. Today, the average social media user can contact individuals with more diverse interests. For example, people who are passionate about playing old board games may find each other on a Facebook group or through an Instagram page and become friends due to a common bond. By using the Internet, these people can stay in touch and maintain a potentially rewarding intellectual friendship. Nonetheless, a truly meaningful friendship can only be had when meeting face to face. Research has shown that the body produces endorphins that help elevate a person's mood through touch and face-to-face conversation. These are signs that real-life friendships have great value based on physical closeness. The benefits of such relationships extend to body language communication, eye contact and physical contact. These characteristics are the intrinsic value and meaning most ascribed to quality friendships and the complete lack of superficial online friendships that ultimately only waste one's precious time and energy. In conclusion, while being online offers the average person some conveniences that can enhance friendships, there is actually much greater value in connecting with someone in real life. Few would dispute this claim even as many friendships are becoming increasingly embedded in the online context.