The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Running a business is a challenging task. When it comes to priorities, successful managers claim their main goal is to make money without considering social responsibilities. I agree with the statement, not only because making money is kind of social responsibilties responsibility but also they may distract businesses and make them fail. However, there are some benefits including lower side effects of business operations as well as better branding. On one hand, making money itself is the most important social responsibility of firms. Businesses are reponsibile for their staffs' lives, they should provide their colleages with well-paid jobs, holidays, and retirement. If they manage to achieve these targets, they would do the justice regarding society. So making money is their social responsibility. Furthermore, business has become a cutting-throat competition, any distraction is likely to make a company bankrupt. For instance, if a high profile company allocate part of its concentration to charitable activities, it is highly likely to lose its market share to other companies. As a result, this would take a heavy toll on its brand and make it bankrupt. On the other hand, ignoring responsibilites about community brings about lasting detrimental impacts. For example, if oil companies only put money first, they are highly likely to release their wastes into the oceans to cut their cost. And, removing these contaminations takes a lot of time, and resources; however, is does not make the died fishes alive. So they need to put the environment first rather than their profit. Moreover, taking social responsibilities is the best brand promotion that companies can have. Imagine a company who has launched a scholarship program for students to enter a university, every student's famility that takes this fund will be thankful forever. Thereafter, they would not forget the company name who pave their way to the university. In conclusion, I strongly believe companies should always put making money first and never consider social responsibilities. Because making money is their social responsibility as well as focusing on money will prevent them from becoming bankrupt. Also the advantages of social responsibilites responsibility like environmental benefits and branding are not able to outweight its disadvantages.