In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

Nowadays,an increasing rate of life expectancy is occuring in many countries around the world. Some individuals believe that this phenomenon has several issues for the goverment. Meanwhile others consider them as a valuable part of the society. In this essay,both views are going to be discussed, however I am concerned that its merits outweigh the demerits. On the one hand, the most significant problem of an ageing population for the authorities, is providing a relevant conditions. For instance, such vulnerable group of citizens require for a special support,medical provision and attention. Hence,it is necessary to offer a qualified healthcare and social welfare systems. A colossal amounts of fundings from the budget are demanded for guaranteeing these facilities and comfortable lifestyle. Japan,could be regarded as an example,where the government spends a great part of the resources to cater the needs of elder people. On the other hand, an ageing population offers numerous benefits for the prosperity of the nation. The impact of grandparents to the preservation of a cultural heritage and traditions, is undeniable. Moreover, advices given by them are helpful for youngsters, as based on the lifetime experiences. For example,in Uzbekistan grandparents play a paramount role in tbe magority of families. Thats is why younger members ask for their guidance and relay on the wisdom of older ones,before making important decisions. In conclusion, despite some problems for the authorities mentioned before, an ageing population is an inseparable part of our life. They give an opportunity for intergenerational knowledge exchange. So it leads to more harmonious,enlightened society and helps to maintain the cultural and traditional values.