Some children spend hours every days on their smartphones Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some teenagers and children devote a large percentage of their day to their smartphones. The reason for that is that their parents may have neglected their needs of attention and quality time and another reason is that parents may have not implemented physical activities in their kids ’ lives from a young age. In my opinion it is clearly not a positive phenomenon as it may affect their upbringing. To commence with, there are many reasons that contribute to the behavior of kids, however a child relationship with his parents is the most influential factor of all. To explain, if parents priortize their time with kids and work on strengthening their relationship with them, children are more likely to choose to spend more family time over using their phones. Moreover, kids require a lot of training to create positive habits such as joining a sport and that needs more effort from their parents and thus many parents may be busy to build such habit. As a consequence, there is a chance that kids become lazy and prefer to use their smartphones over any kind of sports. Furthermore, I believe that this is a negative development in the lifestyle of children. That is because it may affect their attention span as well as their cognitive behavior. There is a school of thought that children that consume less screen time are more active in their school and are more encouraged to engage in intellectual activities. Since having less screen time on daily basis mean that a child will have an opportunity to read a book or go for a walk or meditate which in turn will increase his mental clarity. In conclusion, kids waste their days on their smartphones and that is because they are probably feeling neglected by their parents as well as the lack of physical activities. I strongly believe that this matter should be modified to improve their mental health and cognitive behavior.