Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is universally acknowledged that the majority of adults and children start to shift their concepts of work and learning from attending physical places to online ones. That is due to the considerable price and seamless accessibility that technology has to offer. However, I believe this is a negative development because of the additional financial burden in acquiring new devices and the lack of physical interaction. Since COVID-19, technology has found its way to make it more reachable to society by setting up the cheap cost and easy access. Moreover, the technology companies are also supported by the local government in settling the price, which was intended not to distress people. In addition, public internet company such as IndiHome also plays a crucial role in providing fast networking access. To cite an example, there was a government programme called #DiRumahAja, which was established to encourage people to do their work from home. Therefore, having to spare more budget allocations to buy devices and limited access to physical social interaction are two main reasons why working from home is deemed to develop negative outcomes. To further explain, a family with a total of three school-age children has to accommodate three new devices in order to support learning activities. Thus, it will lead to a financial burden for some families. In regard to a lack of social interaction, adults and children who have to sit in front of their computer on a daily basis will acquire fewer skills to communicate. According to the journal of brain neurology, screen time of more than 5 hours per day is prone to weakening our linguistic ability. To conclude, technology surely provides a considerable price and easy access to all of its users. But it has made negative progress in relation to the financial burden for some people and the inability to experience offline interaction.