New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

whether we like it or not, over the past few decades, modern technologies have transformed virtually all aspects of individuals' lives and youngsters' leisure time is no exception. Although this has both merits and demerits, in a more personal view, the disadvantages are greater than the advantages. To commence with, enormous importance has been laid on how new technologies affect children's free time. A fundamental criterion would be that thanks to the Internet, a wide variety of activities are constantly available free of charge to youths from various animations to distinct VR games. For instance, this happened to my six-year-old niece who has a burning desire for Disney animations, hence she watched loads of these animations on YouTube without bothering her parents. In other words, modern technologies give a hand to children to enjoy their free time by doing their desired activity without disturbing others. There are, however, numerous downsides to the mentioned movement, First and foremost, a vast ratio of young children allocate their free time to playing online games rather than spending time with their parents and friends face-to-face, thus this would have a detrimental effect on their communication skills. For example, a recent survey in my country suggested that nowadays a staggering amount of youths use their iPads in their free time instead of learning new skills such as drawing with their loved ones. Secondly, due to recent technologies, countless amounts of uncensored content are displayed to younger ones watching them in their free time, which has resulted in a sharp rise in domestic violence, as well as committing to crime. In other words, digital technologies have a dangerous effect on children's characteristic traits. To conclude, undoubtedly, the pattern in which younger ones spend their leisure time remarkably changed as a consequence of new technologies. Although this has positive and negative notes, in my opinion, given the causes above, everything can be recapitulated into the fact that the advantages are outnumbered by the disadvantages.