In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, individuals are living longer than ever before. Some experts claim that an ageing population creates issues for governments, while others believe that society which has more elders are more beneficial. Despite its advantages, I believe that having more elderly communities produces more negative sides and this following paragraphs will shed light on both advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, elderly societies have many insights from their life experiences. They have faced so many challenges and still survive until nowadays. Youth can learn much information and wisdom from their life stories as well as the government, especially when making public policies. For instance, Government of Indonesia can ask feedbacks from elders about the implementation of military's authority to fulfill some civil positions in the government because elders are also a part of histories and they know how the former laws were implemented. However, having too many elderly individuals also means that a nation does not have enough productive workforce. This condition can hinder the economic growth because of the limitation of elderly people, specifically related to their health to do certain things unlike teenagers. As an illustration, Japan now faces a problem regarding the domination of elders which makes them unable to meet the demand from the manufacture industry which requires many human capitals, therefore, their economic development recently is relatively stuck because they need to take some younger workers from other countries. Not to mention that elders also get pensions from the government which is also burdening the state budget. In conclusion, while people argue that having ageing population provides benefits for the government, I believe that having more productive people is more advantageous.