Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past several years, few social media platforms have gained an increasing amount of popularity among the people. A lot of people have an opinion that these networking sites are a bane to the society as well as for an individual. This essay will discuss the ill effects that are caused by such sites in the modern era. An astonishingly increasing number adolescents are getting addicted to networking platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, which consumes a massive amount of their time. This results in fever time to spend with family as well as causes mental stress on an individual. Therefore, eventually reducing the connections or the bond shared among our loved ones. The above stated platforms also give a fake impression of the world. Several people try to showcase their “fancy” life online in order to impress their counterparts. This however, might have a negative effect others as they start to think less of themselves. On the other hand, the negative effects on the society is no less than the effects on an individual. Facebook and WhatsApp are frequently used to spread hate crimes against a certain group of people, such as people belonging to a particular caste or religion. Spreading unnecessary hate online results in disharmony in the society among different religious people. Lastly, the above mentioned sites could also be used to spread propaganda against an organization. A lot of popular influential personalities/journalists can be used by someone higher in rank to spread misleading information about an honest organization, which could potentially ruin their reputation forever. To conclude, I believe that networking sites have a negative influence on an individual on a personal level and that they are a menace to the society, and we should try to avoid them as far as we can.