In recent times, many people have focused on the negative effects advertising has on children’s health, behaviour and family relationships. Advertising to children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that these days, a large number of infants are addicted to advertisements on various products and topics which harms their physical and mental health. However, a group of individuals are suggested to restrict the advertising to children. I completely agree with the idea that to avoid negative effects on children's health by advertisements, publicity must be controlled. There are a variety of reasons why advertising negatively affects children's physical and mental health. One possible reason is that most of product manufacturing companies invest plenty of money in advertising to attract potential customers including the infant. To give an example, colorful packaging is one of the marketing strategies by the goods-producing companies, so that children can be attracted by the packet which boosts the sales of the particular product. Moreover, unhealthy ingredients have been used by companies to make products that are harmful to their mental and physical well-being. Another possible reason is that the infants are used to watching advertising on the color television. Hence, most of the time children spend their time at home watching various types of advertisements and this is because they are unable to interact with people and society too. As a result, this type of child has been facing mental diseases such as anxiety, hypertension, and social phobia, etc. To cite an example, if parents do not take care of their children then they will tend to concentrate on television commercials which is very dangerous for the growth of a child's physical and mental well-being. Therefore, many countries around the globe started working on making policies to impose restrictions on advertising that are not useful for children. In conclusion, considering the factors discussed above, I believe banning excessive advertisements will be helpful in the aspects of children's physical and mental health in the future.