Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

In the era of technology boom, not only adults are seen on their phones more often than ever but also children because of the variety of knowledge and entertainment these devices can provide. In my opinion, it has a negative impact on children as it is distracting pupils from study other than to improve their study performance.  Since smartphones are means to approach useful knowledge available online, children are required to seek more information on the internet than just on book like their upper generations. Consequently, parents, with the encouragement from schools and teachers, have equiped their kids with the devices. Apart from the study purposes, children are seen to adapt to electronic devices very fast especially when it comes to recreation. Games and videos are way too attractive and thrilling for them to put their phones down. With that being noticed, despite the fact that children can benefit from the endless resources of knowledge on the internet accesed access easily through portable smartphones, children are utilising these devices more in gaming, watching movies and doing anything more entertaining than studying. This trend keeps getting worse because it is hard for them to help themselves from the satisfaction and curisiousity once getting exposed to the world only found online. Parents, similarly, finds difficulty controlling their children as well. For instance, it was reported in 2012 in China that secondary schools tended to skip classes to gather to play group online games on their phones.  In conclusion, it is the case that children are spending most of their time on their smartphones for study and recreation purposes. However, the recreation is reckoned to be take part more than the other, which brings out more downsides such as poor school performance and smartphone addict. For that reason, it is more of a negative movement to me.