Some people believe that international sporting events contribute to world peace. Others argue that they only provide a temporary distraction. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is still a debatable issue regarding the effects of international sporting events. This essay will discuss both views on this issue. In my opinion, whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, I believe that global sporting events will contribute to world peace. On the one hand, it may be true if sporting events can be used as a tool to issue diversion, especially when it comes to chaotic conditions. The ability level of sporting events is uncontested since they can reach a wider population in every country plus some of the sports types have clubs, making it more powerful for sporting events to give another entertainment. Take Indonesia as an example. In 2023, Indonesia had democratic chaos as a result of the presidential election. The governments used their guns and one of them aired FIFA’s football match. For about 4-5 days, the situation was under control because everyone was busy talking and analyzing the match performance. On the other hand, the role of international sporting events is way more far than that. Sporting tournaments can act as a nation unifier. Many sports types have their specific supporter club around the world, hence it can facilitate people to connect and foster networking based on liking the same club. Additionally, international sporting tournaments can contribute to world peace since they can gather people from around the world to sit and watch the tournaments together at one stadium, regardless of where ethnicity they come from or the language they use. For instance, FIFA 2023 which was held in Qatar had a remarkable success in inviting more than 6 million people around the world for the final match. As a result, international sporting events can bring peace to this world since people can interact with the unknown in a delightful situation. To sum up, some people argue that global sporting events are only used as a distraction agent, while others believe that the events can contribute to world peace. I agree with the latest statement since sporting events can be a perfect platform for people to meet the unknown.