Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today's society, technology plays a major part in every generation's life. It is said that children are most likely to play their phones for most of the day. In my opinion, the idea mentioned is mainly caused by the benefit of technology that could easily provide any source of people's needs. However, this phenomenon could lead to some negative outcomes. Firstly, the main problem of the massive time usage of phones in the children is because that they are looking for the easiest way to fulfil their enjoyments. By operating the smartphones, they could easily access many sources of entertainment from the internet. Secondly, this case also supported by the act of the parents who depended their children with the smart advices in order to accompany them. For instance, when their kids are starting to cry for no reason, many of the parents are directly started to give them a phone, so that it can reassurance their children. That approach is continuosly creating an usual habit towards the children for further ages. On the other hand, despite bringing various convenient impacts, I believe that based on the case above, this phenomenon contains negative possibilities that could happen. Many children could be easily addicted to the point it can harms their mental health. For example, a mental problem named nomophobia was caused by this exact issue, which numerous of people are very anxious and sweaty when they are not on their phones. It is not necessary for children to sacrifice their early ages to the advanced tools, instead they should be looking for the fun in their real life surroundings. In conclusion, parents must step out in this problem and take their role by being present to their kids and introducing various real life activities to entertain them.