Despite the existence of legal institutions such as courts to resolve differences between people, some people still think that it is better to settle for cases out of courts. To what extent so you agree ?

Some people think that institutions such as courts and police stations are best suited to resolve leagal matters, whereas, others think that there is a better way to settle leagal matters outside of court. Eventhough, I accept that small leagal cases such as the ones between families can be solved outside leagal offices, I strongly believe that leagal offices such as courts must be considered for major judicial matters. Firstly, court offers a harmonious settlement procedure for both the parties. Perspective from both the parties is heard and a fair judgement is provided. It reduces the chances of chaos and unnecessary fights, like verbal or physical abuse that generally happens when people try to settle matters outside court. Let us take the leagal settlements in villages that generally happen amongst village panchayat. I recently visited a village where people were abusing each other verbally due to a legal case that was being settled by the panchayat. This not only harms the relationship between people involved in the fight, but also leads to mental disturbance of people around. Seconly, there will be a permanent record, at the judicial office, regarding the settlement and the same issue cannot reccur reoccur occur. Apart from this, out-of- court settlements can be highly influenced, if one party is stronger than the other, in terms of power, position and finance. In such cases, setttlements are unfair. To conclude, I believe that there is a sense of closure in court verdict, as court judgements are purely based on solid proofs. Court settlements must be encouraged, so that the leagal system is not undermined and people take leagal issues to judicial offices such as courts.