Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People argue that the nation's authority should allocate more budget towards creating more railways instead of adding more highways. I couldn't agree more with the statement. Providing more routes for trains can solve traffic problems especially in big cities, while making more roads will only amplifies the traffic jam. People in Jakarta, which is one the cities with worst traffic in the world, are now prefer to use more trains to commute to their destinations as trains can help them arrive on time or at least within estimated time. The main road which connect southern part of the city to the center of Jakarta has been less crowded within rush hour after Mono Railway Train with the same route is established. If the City Council take the same action for the northern part of Jakarta, it may also lessen the traffic as a result. On the other hand, Bandung which located around 200 kilometers away from Jakarta is having worse traffic every year, although several overpasses have been built on the traffic source areas. This phenomenon may happen because adding more roadways will indirectly encourage people to have more private vehicles. Local newspaper reported that number of cars registered in Bandung raised around 10%, a year after the governon government officially open two overpasses in the city to public use. In conclusion, it is important to spread financial support for transportantion infrastructure effectively. It can be calculated by which will eventually lessen the problems.