Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government spending on space programs is becoming more and more vast over the last decades. Some people believe such expenses are a total waste and must be allocated to other social and economic fields. It is disagreed that these investments are useless and do not provide advantages to the nation. This essay will shed some light on the issue and provide several examples to support the thesis. To begin with, space exploration programs have always been the engine of progress for all mankind. For instance, such technologies as aircraft for commercial airlines, which help individuals to travel around the world, and mobile phones were initially developed to resolve military and space research issues. Without enormous investments from the governments, these innovations would be impossible or at least will see the light only twenty years later. Thus, cosmos programs help society move forward, and their developments can be applied in civilian fields. Moreover, daydreaming about cosmos is the guiding star for brilliant young minds and future generations in general. For example, technological universities in the U.S., like MIT, Brown, Stanford and CalTech, graduate more than ten thousand students every year, and only three per cent are going to work at NASA or SpaceX. The majority of these inquisitive minds will find their place in retail, financial and technological companies to make people's lives happier and more effective. Such positive changes would only be possible with support and scholarships from the government and its budgets for space exploration. So, without these endowments, society would have fewer scientists to solve daily problems. To sum up, it can be clearly seen that money spent on outer space exploration is not a complete waste. Such programs not only help to create new technologies for civil implementation but also help resourceful and intelligent individuals find their place in life.