Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to young children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The topic of unpaid community service has divided people to think in two different directions. Some believe that it can be a great life lesson. Whereas, some people think otherwise. I am in full support of volunteering and I will discuss my thoughts in this essay. Charity work must be compulsory in order to value one's life. For instance, working with old people in retirement homes can teach a school learner about the importance of their own grandparents. Moreover, cleaning work in nearby areas will help the environment in every way possible. And also, teach a high school student about the necessity of cleanliness. Such type of volunteering can support the people in the requirement of such free services. One of such benefits of community work is time management. To explain, a student can start multitasking at a very young age. This work can eventually boost the ability of a learner for their college career. Furthermore, it develops a nature of courtesy towards others. It can help with respecting others before ourselves. More charities should approach schools with summer programmes in order to keep children in a positive environment. Such organizations can provide a complete plan about their future and take help from students. To conclude, I am in favour of making charity work mandatory. It teaches some life lessons and works towards making a responsible individual. And, people in need are helped free of cost. I do not see any adverse effect of volunteering towards a student's career.