Some people believe that arts such as painting and music do not improve people’s lives and therefore government should not spend money on them. Instead the government should spend money on science and technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some argue that instead of arts field, the government should put more supports on science and technology development, arts do not improve residents' living. I disagree with this opinion. Arts such as painting and music is an essential element that can help maintaining people's mental health, so the government should spend money on it. Although,in Hong Kong, the arts therapy industry is not well-developed, there are no lack of articles and research show the benefit of arts therapy in different foreign countries. In the therapy process, the clients may talk to the therapist and do paintings according to their wants. They can relax and communicate with themselves to enhance their mental health. In addition, music can be a way to express people's emotion. However, the government spend less money on them. Since arts can maintain people to be mentally healthy, the government should spend money on developing them. Emphrasing on science and technology is the trend in 21st century. However, we cannot forget the important role of arts in the human history. The expert studying history need to appreciate the artworks like the wall painting in the church in order to know more about the living style in the past. For the music, the lyrics always imply the living style in that generation. For example, some Canton Pop songs in 1980s let the new generation know lots of Hongkongers in the past work in local factory to produce plastic toys, watches, etc. The relationship between arts and our lives is extremely close, no matter to let us know about the past iving giving style or keep the current living to our next generation. Thus, the government should continue spending money on arts development. To conclude, arts can benefit people's mental health and show the living style of different generations. It is precious treasures of human being. Therefore, the government should use money on the arts development.