Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals think that all information from scientific research, business and the academic world should be distributed freely to the masses, while others believe that some information is too valuable to be shared so relentlessly. Although it may be reasonable to keep some data private, my stance on this notion is to give people all possible information for them to have a clear view of the way the world is working. To begin with, there are a couple of reasons why, for example, individuals would prefer to keep some data private. Firstly, big corporations hide receipts of their products or chip schemes to not give advantage to other companies in the market. Secondly, advanced countries may not want to share their newest advances in scientific fields with their enemies. For instance, Coca-Cola keeps their receipt of cola very secretly because this can affect its market share. Also, it is important to mention that the US tried to retain any data regarding nuke bombs after World War 2. Nevertheless, the importance of sharing information in all fields far outweighs its possible disadvantages. First of all, free access to this will benefit human civilization greatly in the long term, owing to the fact that global cooperation will encourage all gifted minds of the world to make a concerted effort for improving our world together. Apart from this, such accessability will give opportunities to all levels of society, therefore some people from poor families can change their current condition of living. One clear example is the creation of the internet which gives infinite opportunities to everyone who wants to study any subject. To sum up, although the implementation of this can harm some people from the upper class substantially, but a long-term effect will benefit the international community.