The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Plenty of individuals argue whether the modern world is more harmless than it was a century ago and whether is a need for authorities to invest most of the budget in the military. I completely disagree with that because the level of criminality has risen significantly in recent years. For example, the development of artificial intelligence has increased cybercrimes and numerous crimes have been committed against women. First of all, the enhancement of technologies provides an unsafe environment for humanity on the internet. Hence, the activity of artificial intelligence can steal sensitive data, and hackers around the world can access anyone's private data using only a laptop at home. Furthermore, the rapid spread of misinformation or disinformation through different digital platforms, such as Instagram and TikTok, can create confusion and undermine trust, contributing to a sense of insecurity. Secondly, nowadays, there is an increase of the atrocity towards women in almost every country. Moreover, gender inequality is still a hotly debated question, and cases of women experiencing abduction or kidnapping continue to grow. For instance, the situation of Bishimbayev, who is the ex-minister of economics in Kazakhstan, was convicted for slaughtering a woman. Thus, a great number of women undergo harassment from men, and the situation with the ex-minister is only one occasion; there are still many other cases that have not been addressed or legitimately revealed. All things considered, some people assume that index of crime is lower than it was one hundred years ago and that it is not necessary to allocate most of the budget to the armed forces. However, there is still a large number of crimes against women, due to the low awarness of gender equality and cyberattacks play a crucial role in providing an insecure life.