In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the phenomenon of the rapidly ageing population has been a common challenge which causes the unaffordable cost of healthcare in many societies. Therefore, some nations decide to make regulations to let their citizens pay the healthcare provisions in the future. In my opinion, that must be carried out but it would generate other problems which governments should deal with. Firstly, people could face a situation in which nobody can take care of them in the future in developed countries nowadays because of the lower rates of borning. Thus, the government should encourage people to store money in advance when they still have the ability to work. For example, Holland has practised high tax rates and health insurance since the 1980s in order to provide the well-being of healthcare. In short, it is significantly useful for individuals to have a pleasant life after retiring. On the other hand, the enforcement of health insurance could lead to an enormous load for young people. To pay for the insurance, young people were forced to reduce their daily consumption, earn more income, and have some health problems. According to a report released in 2020 from Taiwan, health insurance acquires 40% of people's annual budget. Therefore, the government should deal with these problems to decrease the financial stress for young people at the same time when promoting healthcare insurance. In conclusion, I strongly believe the government which is facing the ageing population should not only practice some strategies to encourage citizens to pay for their healthcare provision in the future, but also provide some measures to solve other problems produced by health insurance.