Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that former delinquents are the most qualified to talk to minors about the risk of committing an infraction to the law. This essay completely agrees with that statement. I totally believe that these people are the best to talk about that to teenagers, as they experienced it and that it could help them to become better people. Juveniles are more likely to understand the gravity of violating the law if someone who has experienced it explains it to them. This is because as criminals talk of their own experiences, the younger generation will be more aware of them as it is a true story that they are hearing. My cousin, for instance, had a lot of problems with discipline and nothing the authorities would say to her would make her stop. Furthermore, one day, a former detainee came to talk to her class and she completely changed. Meet and exchange with minors could help former prisoners to become better people. In fact, it is because they would take a step back from what they would have done before. For example, my uncle went to prison and in addition, judges sent him to talk to adolescents about his crimes and how they should behave not to find themselves in his situation. Moreover, he found it very pleasant and it benefited him as his sentence was reduced. To conclude, I wholeheartedly believe that former inmates are the best to talk to teenagers about the consequences of committing an offence, as they have experienced it and as they would benefit them in terms of both reduction of sanctions and amelioration of their personality.