International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports are essential elements of a country and lot of sporting events are organized internationally and organizing them is huge responsibility in itself because it is an expensive affair, and have a view that it also brings problems to the country hosting it, which is somewhat true. This essay will put some light on how it affects the host and the problems associated with it. The first thing which comes to the mind when thought of organizing such a sporting event is money. When competitions are organized in such an international level, it requires a huge amount of money and a lot of time because of the high standards maintained. For instance, events such as Olympics and Commonwealth Games are organized in such a large scale that the host country has to bear the expenses in billions, which is hard-earned money of taxpayers. Secondly, these competitions are considered as a status symbol by the hosting nation and thus many efforts and planning is required to organize these games which use up lot of resources in terms of wealth and workforce. Additionally, the after-effects of these games sustain as well, because of the cost of maintaining such venues add on an additional burden to the hosting nation which is not latter used and the money invested in these complexes are wasted with no use in the future. To sum up, these competitions are a burden to the nation because resources used here can be utilized in development of the nation and the people living in it.