Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A longstanding debate continues over the kind of subjects university students should study. Some advocate for the freedom to choose one's courses, while others contend for a fixed set of subjects with future relevance. I strongly agree that pupils must be given the choice to select their majors, and, in this essay, I will be discussing the reasons for the same. On the one hand, some people argue for giving students the liberty to choose their own disciplines. This approach will enable them to study from a free will and instil an intrinsic motivation. For instance, one of my friends was very enthusiastic about dance and instead of pursuing any conventional stream, he went on to become a professional choreographer and he is extremely successful. Therefore, allowing students to select their career path paves the way for a prosperous future. I also assert the same and believe that with this strategy they are better at overcoming any adversity they face in their journey. On the other hand, another group posits the necessity of teaching students disciplines deemed pertinent to the future and well within the realm of innovation and technology. Through this, there will be a significant increase in the number of engineers and scientists in a nation’s workforce. Moreover, it will fuel a nation’s economy and technological advancements will occur at a lightning-fast speed. However, I am still not convinced with this idea. While it may serve the government's interests, it overlooks the importance of accommodating students ' personal preferences and could also lead to a saturation of job opportunities if everyone graduates with the same degree. To conclude, prioritizing students ' preferences in educational endeavours enhances individual fulfilment and fosters a diverse and satisfied workforce. The conservative mindset has to be eradicated.