More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think are the possible solutions?

The amount of private cars is rising in developing countries. There are several problems caused by the increasing number of cars. One of the problems is a serious traffic jam and I will discuss the problem and the solutions in this essay. Although owning a car is convenient for moving from one place to another, lots of people having their own cars would cause traffic congestion. Especially, when a city is developing, the old road might be too narrow to contain the rapidly growing population and cars. One of the examples is the Keelung Road in Taipei. The road was built many years ago and only can allow a few cars to drive through at the same time. Since more and more vehicles are on the road now, there is a traffic jam every morning when people go to work. There are two approaches to cope with the problem. First, the government should set up rules that require car buyers to pay more tax so potential car owners would lower their motivation to buy a new car. Second, the government could limit the number of cars on the road every day. For instance, to solve the serious traffic issue, the government in Beijing set up a strict rule to regulate traffic. Beijing residents could only drive into the city on the odd date if their car plate number is the odd number while people whose car plate number is the even number can drive their car into the city on the even date. Such regulation helps to control the number of cars entering the city. Therefore, the number of cars decreases. In conclusion, more and more people have their first car in developing countries, which causes traffic congestion, and the governments need to set up rules to lower the desire to purchase and limit the number of vehicles on the road.