Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Distance learning has grown and became a new phenomenon in universities and colleges. In my opinion, the development of distance learning has benefits, while there are drawbacks cannot be solved. On one hand, distance learning has the following benefits to both students and teachers.First of all, online teaching is [beneficial to students ] is easier to review. Memory declines as time goes by and course content is difficult to review if only relying on handwritten notes. However, online teaching can be recorded, which help students to review the class effectively. Secondly, teachers can concentrate on teaching and offer better quality of education when they teach online.Teachers can be distracted in class by disobedient students, which leads to poor quality of education. However, distance learning creates a better environment of teaching where there is no distraction, which can help teacher to focus on teaching and improve the quality of education. On the other hand, I believe there are serious drawbacks of distance learning that make it hard to replace traditional education. Firstly, the lack of interaction between teacher and students leads to poor teacher -student relationships. Comparing with traditional teaching method, online teaching lacks real interaction between students and teacher as it usually becomes a situation where the teacher does not get response from students. As a result, it leads to poor teacher -student relationships. Furthermore, the lack of social interaction can indirectly cause students to develop social anxiety. School is a small society, and social relationship in school helps students learn social skills. With distance learning, students have less chance to interact with classmates and therefore lose the chance of making new friends. It can cause alienation, and without social interaction, ultimately, students could suffer from social anxiety. To sum up, I do not believe that the benefits of distance learning outweigh the drawbacks because distance learning can weaken teacher -student relationships and lead to social anxiety.