The decline in the number of people reading books is a concern for many. What measures can be taken to promote reading and support the publishing industry?

Reading is a good habit. However, the number of readers are declining as the attention of people today is now diverted to websites and games installed on their phones. Enhancement of reading activities and making books affordable could help tackle this. There are plenty of reasons why the interest in reading is decreasing. Social networking sites are one of the culprits. These days, a lot of people are posting their photos, creating videos, and sharing their life achievements on sites such as Facebook and Instagram. Because of this, they also become curious about what is happening to other people, thus they are always on their phones to get updates. In addition to that, the attention of children now is to video games, as it is easily accessible and convenient. They can play games and interact with others in the comfort of their bedroom. There are measures that may help promote reading and support the publishing industry. Firstly, schools should encourage students to read. For instance, they can have monthly book reports. With this action, students will not only develop reading habits but also enhance their imagination and linguistic ability. Another way is to create books that are affordable, especially to underserved communities. Publishers can collaborate with nonprofit organizations and governments to make reading materials accessible to everyone. Hence, these actions could divert the attention of the community to cultivate a love for reading. In conclusion, schools and government should make a conscious effort to increase interest in reading and support the publishing industry, as it is crucial for promoting literacy.