Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university. What might be the reasons for this? What are the disadvantages of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, after leaving high school, scholars tend to spend their time for working or travelling before embarking on an undergraduate journey. This happened because of some reasons, which I will discuss in the following paragraph, due to releasing stress. In addition, this essay also explains the drawbacks related to learning problems which students face after doing these activities. Firstly, taking holidays after finishing final tests contributes to preventing burnout for pupils. This reason is that final examinations run out of their time and energy to study hard due to passing the minimum score requirements. In addition, there is the only time when students can have long days off since in the college individuals are required to focus on academic purposes. For example, in Indonesia, students have to learn a lot of materials and more than 20 projects in one semester. Therefore, scholars always study for a long time from 7 AM to 1 AM and sleep only 3 hours. That is why they utilize their leisure time to visit tourist attractions. On the other hand, the decision leads the youth to face negative sides while starting the learning programs because of a lack of preparation. The reason is that learning activities should be prepared by reading subjects, taking notes, and creating questions before attending class. Consequently, they are not ready to receive knowledge from lecturers and have no clue about what information is delivered. Then, the freshmen experience difficulties related to receiving academic understanding in the beginning period. To sum up, taking a break before starting an undergraduate program has positive development to release stress; however, it also leads to facing obstacles while receiving materials.