The high levels of air pollution in many cities pose a threat to public health. What measures can be taken to improve air quality and reduce the health risks associated with air pollution?

Nowadays, increasing air pollution in urban areas has become an important concern for our society, considering its impact on human health. This essay will present solutions to promote a better air quality, mitigating risks related to this issue. Primarily, to improve air quality, the Federal Government should implement restrictive policies on industrial exhaust gas control. This is because the industrial sector is one of the major emitters of CO, NOx, and SOx, which are harmful to the human breathing system and, as greenhouse gases, they destroy the ozone layer in the atmosphere. For instance, Brazilian environmental regulations established maximum levels of industrial sites' greenhouse gas emissions, and also required their permanent monitoring and reporting, which promoted a positive impact on air quality in highly industrialized neighborhoods, such as São Bernardo do Campo. Secondly, better air quality could also be associated with stringent transportation legislation, including mandatory vehicle rotation, based on license plate numbers. As a result of the reducing number of cars in traffic during the day, the amount of fossil fuel combustion gases, which are extremely damaging to the respiratory system, may also decrease. To illustrate, despite the increasing number of vehicles, São Paulo's air quality has stabilized at acceptable levels since the local government adopted these measures thirty years ago. To summarize, human health is in danger due to the increasing amount of pollutant in the air. To solve this problem, governments could implement a restrictive gas emission control frameworks and vehicle rotation in urban areas, both to reduce pollution and to lead to better air quality.