Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be death of grammar and spelling. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of communication has been a popular topic to discuss these days. It is reknowned that the way we communicate with text message and other means of online communication are brief and simple. A section of society are of the belief that the situation will be the end of grammar and spelling. I strongly agree with this argument for a couple of reason. This essay will discuss them in the subsequent paragraph. The advancement of technology is aiming for a simpler and better way of living, including in the area of communication. While on the older days society used to spend a lot of time to talk, nowadays, with the presence of text messaging and online-chat applications in the mobile devices, people prefer to cut the activity short. Because one text message can only be 180 characters only, the information carried out inside a text message is usually short and compact. While it is convenient to understand, it should be noted that the kind of language often lessen the use of full sentences with proper grammar and spelling. People tend to make everything in abbreviation when it comes to chatting. Sometimes it goes far that we no longer remember the initial meaning of the word. Other than that, since we are now equipped with something that goes with the application, such as emoji and sticker, peope are more comfortable with voicing out their mind through sticker and emoji. This will also make the use of proper language become more scarce in the future. In conclusion, I believe that the use of simpler means of communication through instant message or online chatting will only make people closer to the end of the glorious era of grammar and spelling.