In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children tis message?

Children are sometimes taught that they have to dream as high as they can. In order to achieve that, they have to work hard enough. While it can motivate them to pursue their dreams, it also can affect them negatively if they put too much pressure on themselves. The main purpose of this message is to encourage children to try their best. By working hard, children will exert more effort which can benefit their self-development. Not only will this development help them to get what they want, but also yield other benefits that come along the way. For example, children who dedicate themselves to learning a musical instrument may not only excel in music but also develop discipline and perseverance, crucial life skills that extend beyond their initial goal. However, this kind of message can also be overwhelming for children that they feel burdened. This happens because they experience too many pressures, leading them to think that they have not been trying enough. This can lead to children's depression and demotivation. For instance, a child who is told by his coach that he has not been practising hard enough to be a professional basketball player will result in lower self-esteem and struggle with anxiety. Therefore, this message will be counterproductive because it harms children's mental. It is understandable to want a big achievement in life and putting in effort is a way to attain them. This view has its own positive side as it can be advantageous for children's development, but also its disadvantages if children are pushing themself too hard. In conclusion, although this culture can boost children's motivation, parents and educators should also know about their children's capabilities so they can foster a supportive environment where children can strive for their dreams without sacrificing their mental health.