Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, there has been a rise in competitive admission rates for universities. In my opinion, this is largely due to improving income equality and is a positive trend on the whole. The main cause of this phenomenon is a growth in the global middle class. In developed countries, education levels have been rising steadily since the beginning of the 20th century with diminishing returns as countries reach 90% and above. Therefore, the most significant increases now come from the developing world. In particular, Asian and Middle Eastern nations such as Vietnam, Malaysia, and the UAE have seen dramatic growth in per capita income, enabling families to send their children to university domestically or abroad. Coupled with increased tax revenue this allows governments to fund state schools and offer scholarships and grants to less privileged segments of the population. Larger applicant pools from around the world are concomitant with increased competition. Despite the risk that less affluent families will be left behind, fiercer competition is an overwhelming positive. When a large number of applicants compete for limited number of spots, this motivates each individual to excel. For example, a student applying to Harvard University in the 1950s was competing against a limited number of other applications and could likely rely on wealth and social status to gain acceptance. Nowadays, the acceptance rate is below 5% as students from all over the world strive for a place at Harvard. This means students must work harder to differentiate themselves by taking on more meaningful extracurriculars, receiving higher grades, and writing more insightful college essays. All this hard work in the aggregate translates to personal growth even if they must settle for a lesser university. In conclusion, rising incomes globally are responsible for increased competitiveness for university education and this clearly benefits both individuals and society. However, it is also important that governments and families mitigate the potentially negative effects of competition