In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some nations, some people believe that there is many advantages to use a huge money on building new railway lines for very fast trains between cities, while others think we should spent money on developing the current public transportation system. While imporving existing public transport can reduce the congestion in the city, I believe that building fast trains between cities can encourage the population of rural areas. On the one hand, enhancing the current public transportation system can reduce the urban congestion. The convenience of public transport will encourage citizens to use it insteade of driving their own cars. This will decrease the numbers of cars which run on the roads and it leads to avoid the congestion in the city. For example, Hanoi has it’s first sky train and it is the good choice for students and workers to travel to companies or schools easily and avoid the cogestion during the peak hours. On the other hand, building fast trains from one city to another city can encourage the population of rural areas. This will allow many employees to work in other cities without renting a place to live. This means many rural areas where young people could leave their hometown to find their dream jobs in the big cities can keep their citizens to stay there. It would reduce the rate of buying or renting housing in the big cities, and develop rural areas to be the better places to live. For instance, in Japan, many employees work in Tokyo but their homes are in other cities where are far away from Tokyo. The fast trains encourage them to work in Tokyo while living in their hometown, and help them to save their rents. In conclusion, although it is important to reduce the congestion by developing current public transport in the city, I believe that the convenience of fast trains between cities can increase the population of rural areas and reduce the rate of buying or renting housing in urban areas.