It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games and Football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, but others believe the opposite. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

By surveying human history, hosting international sports events has been a regular activity, and many countries are competing to win the privilege of having them. However, the citizens' opinions are divided into two main points; some of them believe that holding such an event may lead to disturbing their peace, on the contrary, others believe it is an opportunity to increase the country's economy. Personally, I agree with the second opinion because the pros of hosting these games come over their cons. Firstly, people in general tend to think about the surface issues that might happen when their countries hold worldwide events. In other words, they claim that welcoming people from all around the world is putting further pressure on the government to prepare public facilities. For instance, when Qatar held the World Wide Cup, many hotels and restaurants were built to allow foreigners to stay in. However, after the cup, they stayed empty which cost the government uncountable losses. Therefore, such activities must be chosen reasonably. On the contrary, others prefer to hold these events in order to entertain them and raise the country's income. That means such events could be a great chance to benefit their financial and social incomes. Germany as an example, hosted the football cup in 2024, and its financial records rose noticeably with the number of travellers who arrived to attend the matches. To conclude, doing sports activities has minimal disadvantages when compared to its advantages for the residents and governments at the same time.