Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to several reasons, a considerable number of children use their smartphones for more than one hour in a day. In my opinion, nowadays we are facing a new phrase that is called “Digital Native”. In this case, technology is an unavoidable part of our new generation’s life, which can cause several major drawbacks. Thus, I consider it negative based on reasons that I will discuss bellow. To begin with, this development can make a huge generation gap between children and their parents. Based on this gap, families face a lack of mutual perception. In fact, based on this virtual reality, youngsters feel themselves more sophisticated and knowledgeable about a variety of issues comparing to elder people. Thus, it is just a matter of time till they lose their respect to their parents and become big-headed, which is not sociably suitable. For instance, as far as I know in all modern families, parents are dealing with children who do not want to accept their elders’ helpful advices an recommends in various aspects. In addition, this virtual reality can keep them away from real experiences, which are extremely essential in forming children ’s personality. In other words, children waste such time on their smartphones that they can have physical activity which is important for their health and longevity, and also meet new people which helps them to learn soft skills. For example, if a child play with his mobile or brows in social media for a long time, which can harm his eyes, he will never learn how roll with the punches and deal with problems that may happen between him and his friends. To sum up, spending most of children ’s daily time on their smartphones has some far-reaching consequences. Not only do they lose their respects to their parents due to a generation gab but also, they lose the chance of being in community and learning many soft skills.