These days, many people rely on traditional medicines. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, a considerable number of people rely on alternative medicines instead of getting help from doctors. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to unknown side effects and a waste of money. One serious problem that can arise from alternative medicines is that they can lead to unknown side effects. In other words, traditional medicines have not been tested scientifically, and people use them because of the recommendations of the old generation. Therefore, sometimes, when people rely on them, their illnesses will become worse than before. For example, in most Arabic countries, people consume honey every day in order to reduce their sugar level in the body because many people claim that it is natural and can treat diabetes. However, according to medical research, honey can increase the sugar level in the blood. If diabetes patients continue taking honey without the help of modern medicines, they will suffer from many other serious health issues that can cause death. Another issue is that traditional medicine can sometimes be costly. That is to say, some alternative medicines cannot be found easily, and because of that, some people sell them at a higher price. For example, in China, porcupines’ quills are widely used as a traditional medicine to cure cancer; however, it is not easy to get these animals, so their price can be high and some people cannot afford them. Moreover, some people spend a huge amount of money without getting their results. If they invest their money in a proper medical treatment given by a consultant, they have a high possibility of curing their problems without spending a lot of money. To sum up, although traditional medicines have become popular these days, they have brought about too many problems to be considered a positive trend.