The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that the common goal of all different aspects of science is the development in human’s lives. This essay completely agrees with that mentioned assertation/claim. To begin with, if the main aim of scientific studies and experiments was not human wellbeing, people might be in danger. For example, the nuclear energy is one of the issues that have harmful effects on human’s lives, either consciously or unconsciously. In this case, although authorities claimed that experiments on nuclear energy started only as a help for people ’s difficulties, researches were diverted towards improving countries military forces. As a result, the concern about far-reaching consequences of that energy for both people and environment was raised all over the word. In fact, it is not fair that researches on which people spend money threaten their lives, but rather it is supposed to have considerable benefits for its owners. In addition, as scientific studies are all supported by the money which belongs to the public, the results should be for wellbeing of those people as well. Otherwise, governments will face social dissatisfaction which can cause public protest. Also, this population cannot trust in their authorities and become pessimistic about them with the passage of time. They may even immigrate and brain drain can occur. In conclusion, improving people ’s lives should play the most significant role in scientific researches. If not, not only do governments deal with their population’s dissatisfaction and even protest, but also harmful consequences can happen.