The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadavantages?

A common trend occurring frequently around the globe in all facets of society is the growth of social networking. While the immediate sway towards it would be the convenience, the inevitable drawbacks of dependence and narrow the gap between generation greatly surpass the upside. One of the focal disadvantages of using social media would be the dependence on it. In other words, people tend to commute through media to reduce the face-to-face situation. This scenario can be witnessed everywhere, from teenager to adults. Excessive social media use can negatively impact quality time, create conflict, and reduce relationship satisfaction — whether the relationship is romantic or not. During a 2021 study, researchers used Instagram and the app’s time-tracking capability to learn more about the connection between social media and relationship satisfaction. They found an increase in Instagram usage led to a decrease in relationship satisfaction and an increase in conflict and negative outcomes. Furthermore, the dissatisfaction, conflict, and negative outcomes triggered an addictive use of Instagram. Another point to consider is the connection between older and younger, especially within the family unit. Older generations typically have a stabilizing effect that keep direct conversation. However, young people are more progressive and push social network to communicate. According to STES reports, 36 percent from older groups choose to communicate through social media, meanwhile, the figure for the young group was 64 percent. In conclusion, while the advantages of social media and relationships tend to occur naturally, the disadvantages seem to be associated with existing relationship problems or underlying psychological concerns in society.