Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, admission fees have become a necessity in a large number of museums, whereas some of them do not need them. In my opinion, the former trend has more upsides as it can help these institutions to sustain and improve themselves. One of the main reasons that they should charge a fee for entry is to cover the costs of their upkeep. This involves not only compensating the current staff such as the conservators, curators and maintanence workers, but also hiring new employees who can mend and renovate some of the older artworks. By doing this, the museum will generally become more user-friendly, resulting in a better experience for the museum-goers. Paying for tickets could also lead to higher-quality services. The funds generated this way would definitely come in handy for purchasing state-of-the-art technology like projectors or VR headsets for a more immersive experience, which can consequently render the exhibits and historical shows more dynamic. However, this policy can also be destructive as some may say it will probably lead to exclusionary acces. Many individuals from unfavorable socioeconomic backgrounds might not have the capacity to cover the costs of tickets to enter these cultural centers, even though they are often enthusiastic about being in a museum. For instance, children who are brought up on dinasour bed-time stories mostly long for visiting their fossils in person, and yet when they are told by their parents that it is impossible to do so due to the high prices of entry tickets, they will get disillusioned. For the same reason, there will normally be a decrease in attendance as these fees could be seen as deterrents. This is like a large red sign that discourages potential visitors who are in their vicinity and had no premeditated intention of entering these museums so as to become familiar with the history and culture of their country. Nevertheless, this situation could be resolved by providing less well-to-do people free admission into these buildings, or allowing visitors to put these fees on their credit. In conclusion, despite its prohibitve impacts for certain gropus of people that can result in fewer people visiting museums, entry fees are very useful for maintaining them and enhancing the visitor experience.