Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problem are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or an negative development?

Currently, there are rising number of people with health issues choosing alternative medicines and treatments instead of consulting to doctors. This trend could become an unprecedented situation as alternatives medications have not gone through proper medical trials. Alternative medications often use methods and consumption of medicines that are yet to be acknowledged in medical society. This is often due to the lack of research conducted toward those subjects or the existence of a research that proves that those method are not effective. Take cupping for example, it extracts blood through your skin and said to have the ability to remove toxins from your body. While it might have the ability mentioned, there are other methods that are more clinically-proven and involves less invasive actions. Same does apply with herbal medications that often being taken as an alternatives treatment, it has been proven to have a medical benefits, but it becomes insignificant when compared to other standardized pharmaceuticals. Doing alternative treatment can also cause unprecedented risks. Alternatives that are said to be more effective than the regular medications might involve the use of substances or methods that are deemed dangerous in medical world. It become worse when this method have not been through any medical trials, unknown side-effects might appear following the treatment. Not to mention, the lack of medical skills of those alternative practitioner could impose additional risks. In short, alternative treatments or medications should be taken carefully. It might not have the effectiveness of regular methods or the risks might outweigh the benefits. Nevertheless, if an alternative is proven to be effective and safe through proper clinical trials the doctors will recommend it. Thus, consulting to a doctor will be the best actions to solve your health issues.