Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

When it comes to the right of university education accessibility, there is a hot-potato debate over whether the government should remove fees for all sorts of students or not. Despite the supporting argument, I am inclined to disagree with this statement, as this action leads to a series of negative implications. On one hand, it is undeniable that some particular groups of pupils should receive financial assistance to get to university. The primary reason for this is to provide students with equal opportunities so that even lower-income households would be able to send their children to university. For instance, Texas University provides gifted students with full-ride scholarships that can encourage them to fully devote themselves to the pursuit of knowledge without fearing burdened tuition fees. Additionally, this policy is a potential precursor for a highly educated population. Thanks to universalized tertiary education, a greater number of people can become academic experts, enhancing the intellectual level of the whole society. On the other hand, there would be a new financial burden for the public. While our resources are severely limited but the demand that has to be satisfied is very high, universities require additional funding to teach a wider range of students, which may have negative consequences. Taxpayers would be disaffected if their hard-earned money was used to support groups of people whose material contribution to society was deemed nebulous. Take the California State University (CSU) System as an example, when it received significant funding increases to expand student enrollment and improve graduation rates in 2015; however, reports emerged of overcrowded classrooms, limited student support services, and faculty shortages, leading to concerns about the quality of education. Besides, larger class sizes, slashed funding for essential services, and compromised academic freedom— these are the potential downsides of universities chasing increased funding to open their doors wider. In conclusion, I believe university education should not be free for all. As well-meaning as this course of action may sound, it would be an inefficient use of resources and not without risks.