Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Some students around the world would bring their mobile phones to school. While these devices can have their use in safety, connectivity, and even learning, many schools have chosen to prohibit its use on the school grounds. In my opinion, this is a positive development and have benefits either academically, physically, or socially. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. This is because the existence of phones in the classroom might become a distraction and prevent students from obtaining the essence of the class. For instance, students might check their devie when there is a notification, regardless of its importance. Even when there is no new notifications, students can not resist the urge to staying update on their social media through their phones. All of these irrelevant activities hinder the knowledge transfer process and causing degrading academic performance in students. A banning on phone use in class prevent this distraction and enable them to focus. Moreover, prohibiting the use of phones outside of class can also improve students wellbeing. Without the phone, students are encouraged to socialize and be more physically active. For example, students would talk to each other and walk around the school during recess instead of staying in the classroom and just scrolling on their phone. This will certainly have a positive implication on the students' social skills and physical fitness. The lack of a phone outside class can promote those positive behaviors which will be useful throughout their life. In conclusion, preventing the use of phones in schools has positive effects on the students. While students can improve their learning process, they can also be encouraged to build positive habits outside of the classroom.