Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is still a subject of debate in the society whether univerities should give learnings that will be beneficial for workspace or let the students freely learn materials only for the sake of understanding. This essay will take a side in a freedom of learning along side with my opinions and related illustrations. To begin with, students who study under pressure especially on boring subject to gain professional skill will never gain knowledge efficiently. This issue is because they are not happy with what they experience during their journey which lead into unsatisfied outcomes even if the subjects are actually crucial and needed in certain workplaces. For instance, as Indonesia has already applied the freedom of learning on its education system from 2020, there has been a significant upward trend where most of the leaners enjoy their fields of their study and mostly feel that they in fact gain valuable and memorable knowledge. More than that, several learners will get affected on their mental states like burned out if they get pushed on things that are not interesting. Furthermore, several learners choose to attend universities not for specific work preparation, instead, they purely just want to have understanding on certain area of subjects. This phenomenon happens in many individuals who only want to develop their personal growths and have more degrees. To illustrate, many institutes in New Zealand have versatile courses which talk about certain regions' famous animals that can be attended by students even most of their majors or careers are not related to biological stuff. This issue shows that many of them are full of curiousity and in fact universities should facilitate their needs. To sum up, i strongly believe that the main function of universities is to give a facilitation for students in form of education method that let them to explore things for their own knowledge even it is not associated with any formal skill. It is because the students not only will feel less stress with what they learn, but also universities become a place for them to pour all of their curiousity.