Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it has become very common to witness young individuals learning a foreign language. The statistics demonstrate that 40 per cent of these learners are studing in primary schools and about 30 per cent are secondary school's students. There are some advantages such as being able to immigrate in their early age and study from websites of other countries, however, some disadvantages are included as well. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of this and try to draw some conclusions. One of the major benefits of doing this at primary school is that the opportunity of immigration will have happened by their eighteens. For instance, in 2002, more than half of the immigrants to Canada were teenagers who studied english at the begining years of their school. Yet, in early ages, human brain can gain a lot of information quickly and well, which makes the learning proccess faster. Another main advantage of this is that they can watch movies or read books in the language they have learnt which makes them more literate than others when they are in secondary or high school. More over, they will be able to communicate with people who leave abroad. On the other hand, the main drawback which many families dont let their child to begin at that age is that the young individuals might get frustrated of studing which would lead them to obtain low scores, and as a child, this would lower their confidence. For example, in an interview with these young teenagers in 2004, most of them were dissatisfied of this condition. Another downside of this can be confusion. The reason for this is the lack of general information, which in higher stages would be a great problem. In conclusion, there are both positives and negatives of doing this in the starting years of school. Personally, I believe, the beneficial points outweigh any drawbacks.